Skip to main content

PS5: Returnal dev tells players to turn auto-update off to keep their run

PS5: Returnal dev tells players to turn auto-update off to keep their run
(Image credit: Sony Interactive Entertainment)

If you've been deep into Returnal, you might want to make sure that your PS5's auto-update feature is off.

Housemarque announced yesterday that it would be patching the game today, on May 5 at 12 p.m. PT / 3 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. GMT. Housemarque hasn't revealed what the update is for just yet, but if you don't want to lose your progress, make sure you've got the right settings.

Returnal PS5 update warning

See more

If you do not turn off the PS5's auto-update feature before 3 p.m. ET and your PS5 is in rest mode, Returnal will restart in order to apply the patch that is getting pushed out.

Do yourself a favor and don't lose out on hours of progress because of some patch that may or may not fix the endless crashes and closed doors. Actually, if this patch does fix these things, that sounds pretty important. But still, turn off auto-update.

Of course, if Housemarque had implemented an auto-save system instead of relying on the PS5's rest mode, stuff like this wouldn't have to happen, but I don't need to tell you that because you're also probably shaking your fist.

We'll likely find out what the update is all about once it hits at 3 p.m. ET, but make sure you're all set before then.

Rami Tabari

Rami Tabari is a Senior Writer for Laptop Mag. He reviews every shape and form of a laptop as well as all sorts of cool tech. You can find him sitting at his desk surrounded by a hoarder's dream of laptops, and when he navigates his way out to civilization, you can catch him watching really bad anime or playing some kind of painfully difficult game. He’s the best at every game and he just doesn’t lose. That’s why you’ll occasionally catch his byline attached to the latest Souls-like challenge.