Skip to main content

Baldur's Gate 3: Unlock time and its bizarre storage requirements

This is Baldur's Gate 3's unlock time today — hope you have 150GB free
(Image credit: Larian Studios)

Baldur's Gate 3 is launching at a specific time today, but before you go and download it, Larian Studios just updated the required storage space from 70GB to 150GB.

Baldur's Gate 3 launches at these times: 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm UK / 7pm CEST. Unfortunately, there's no pre-load available, but even if you are going to buy it, do you have enough space for it? Well, the 150GB listing space is a little deceptive.

Baldur's Gate 3's huge file size explained

See more

Larian director of publishing Michael Douse stated on Twitter that the install size of Baldur's Gate 3 is actually around 80GB, but having 150GB free is "good for u." That's a weird explanation for needing to nearly double the storage requirement for your game. 

If Larian is indicating that updates throughout Early Access will push the game upwards toward 150GB, then that's understandable. But why not just say that?

Here are the current updated requirements for Baldur's Gate 3 needed to run the game:

Minimum:

  • OS: Windows 7 SP1 64-bit
  • Processor: Intel i5-4690 / AMD FX 4350
  • Memory: 8 GB RAM
  • Graphics: Nvidia GTX 780 / AMD Radeon R9 280X
  • DirectX: Version 11
  • Storage: 150 GB available space

Recommended:

  • OS: Windows 10 64-bit
  • Processor: Intel i7 4770k / AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
  • Memory: 16 GB RAM
  • Graphics: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB / AMD RX580
  • DirectX: Version 11
  • Storage: 150 GB available space
Rami Tabari
As soon as Rami Tabari sprung out of the College of Staten Island, he hit the ground running as a Staff Writer for Laptop Mag. He reviews every shape and form of a laptop as well as all sorts of cool tech. You can find him sitting at his desk surrounded by a hoarder's dream of laptops, and when he navigates his way out to civilization, you can catch him watching really bad anime or playing some kind of painfully difficult game. He’s the best at every game and he just doesn’t lose. That’s why you’ll occasionally catch his byline in Tom’s Guide, taking on the latest Souls-like challenge.