How to Stop Google from Using Your Photo in Ads

  • MORE


Did you know your opinions and photo are showing up in your friend's Google search results? By default, if you rate a song from Google Play, a restaurant where you ate, a piece of technology you bought, or any other thing in the Google universe, the search giant now shares your photo and rating with your friends. Google calls these Shared Endorsements. It is possible to stop yourself from being used in this way, if you follow these easy instructions. 

1. Log into your Google account.

googlesignin 321x400

2. Click the Home button on the top left and click Settings. 


MORE: Best Windows 8.1 Browser: Chrome vs. Firefox vs. Internet Explorer

3. Click Edit next to Shared Endorsements.


4. Uncheck where it says "Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads." Then click Save. 


Recommended by Outbrain
Author Bio
Anna Attkisson
Anna Attkisson, Laptop Mag & Tom's Guide Managing Editor
A lover of lists and deadlines, Anna Attkisson covers apps, social networking, tablets, chromebooks and accessories. She loves each of her devices equally, including the phablet, three tablets, three laptops and desktop. She joined the Laptop Mag staff in 2007, after working at Time Inc. Content Solutions where she created custom publications for companies from American Express to National Parks Foundation.
Anna Attkisson, Laptop Mag & Tom's Guide Managing Editor on
Add a comment