How to Block Someone on Foursquare

  • MORE

1399302136 515x400

Checking into places to earn points and stake your territory on Foursquare can be really fun until someone starts stalking you. Worse, an insecure friend might start asking why you don't invite her places. Get some reprieve and check in without having to look over your shoulder again by unfriending unsavory followers with this simple guide.  

1. Open the Foursquare app on your phone.

MORE: 15 Best iPhone Apps You're Not Using

 img 0174 225x400


2. Swipe right to pull up the menu.

 1399301085 225x400


3. Select Friends.

 img 0178 225x400


4. Look for the friend you want to block. You can enter their name in the search field at the top of the page.

 img 0175 225x400

5. Tap their name to go to their profile.

 1399301295 225x400

6. Tap Friends below their name.

 1399301491 225x400

7. Select Unfriend.

 img 0177 225x400

You're done. The Notifications and Friends buttons on that person's page will turn into a single Add Friend button. Now that contact won't see your check-ins unless they go to a specific location's page. To make sure they don't see you in the "Here Now" section of pages owned by specific locations, go into your account settings and uncheck the box that says "Include me in the public list of people who are currently checked in at a venue."

Recommended by Outbrain
Author Bio
Cherlynn Low
Cherlynn Low, LAPTOP Staff Writer
Cherlynn joined the Laptopmag team in June 2013 and has since been writing about all things tech and digital with a focus on mobile and Internet software development. She also edits and reports occasionally on video. She graduated with a M.S. in Journalism (Broadcast) from Columbia University in May 2013 and has been designing personal websites since 2001.
Cherlynn Low, LAPTOP Staff Writer on
Add a comment